Scott M. Sandridge

A Work in Progress

SpecMusicMuse Review: Vines – An Urban Legend – Michael Williams

Vine-FrontStephen Thorne produces a Greek Tragedy for a theatre, unaware that opening night will unleash ancient and mischievous spirits long dormant.

At least that was what I understood of Vines—An Urban Legend. Since the story, itself, is written in a similar format to the ancient Greek Tragedies, it was a bit difficult for my non-Classically trained mind to stay focused. While such a format can work great in shorter works, when it reaches novella or even novel length, it becomes a major chore to read. And you never want a story to feel like something you were forced to read in high school (unless it was from Hawthorne or Poe, ‘cause they rawked).

Fortunately, not all of it reads that way. Some chapters are a more modern format, as in early twentieth century—and there’s nothing I hate more than being reminded of The Great Gatsby. But don’t worry, Williams’s tale is nowhere near as bad as that worthless literary drivel. Williams, at least, knows that a good story requires a protagonist who acts (no pun intended).

So while it wasn’t my cup of tea, and would likely throw off the casual reader, those who have a love for the Classical and experimental will find this story to be an enjoyable twist. His prose is solid, and having attempted (and failed at) such experiments myself, I can certainly appreciate his attempt and the difficulties in crafting a tale in such a way.

But I will admit those mischievous Muses turned me on.

But, then again, mischievous Muses always turn me on.

Best to read while listening to: anything Classical, perhaps with a dash of Contemporary.

And now for that damned annoying disclaimer (Down with the FTC!!):

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for review fromFirst Rule Publicity from the author as part of a virtual book tour. I was not compensated nor was I required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

December 29, 2012 - Posted by | SpecMusicMuse | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 677 other followers

