Scott M. Sandridge

A Work in Progress

Casting Call for Silverblade Prophecy Podiobook

Casting Call for The Silverblade Prophecy Podiobook

I need some talented volunteers to play some characters for my upcoming podiobook, The Silverblade Prophecy. It’s non-paying, but credit will be given, and I can also offer an interview on my podcast show, A Work in Progress. I’ll need voices for the following major characters:

Yavar Thain: a Vangaardian assassin cursed to never feel emotions except through the hearts of others (literally, she has to remove someone’s heart and have it in contact with her just to feel anything). She also has a bad habit of getting her brother into trouble that only she can get him out of. Her quest to break her curse drives parts of the storyline.

Sample lines: “What are you doing here, Varash?”
“You’ll what? Get your fool self killed trying to attack me?”

Martin Thain: Yavar’s twin brother. He operates as Yavar’s conscience…when she isn’t getting him into trouble. He’s also a thief and caravan raider (among other things), which goes to prove that even a self-proclaimed “conscience” isn’t always perfect.

Sample lines: “The wages of sin. It’s good to know that if every other business goes under, we’ll still make a profit with the brothels.”
“You should hire better guards. All these would be dead if I hadn’t decided to come willingly.”

Note: for those interested in auditioning for Yavar and Martin, (and also Varash, Vrang, Argazihm, and Thressa), email me before doing the lines so I can send a sample of the Vangaardian accent.

I will also need voices for many minor characters. Those who audition for the major characters but don’t quite make it may be picked for one of the minor characters. Below are some of the more prominent minor characters if you wish to choose to audition for a minor role instead of a major one. Also, I may point out a character and send a character sketch and sample line to you if I think you’ll be perfect for a specific character. Plus, some minor characters in this podiobook may have a bigger role in the second or third one.

Minor characters (these are only a few):

High Priest Varash: The head priest of the cult of Okareon and one of Emperor Argazihm’s advisors. Aristocratic and cunning to a fault.

Sample lines: “I’ve always thought of the two of you as the children I never had.”
“My motive is the same as it has always been: I want him dead.”

Warlord Vrang: Yavar’s husband and mentor. Also the one who curses her on his death. Ambitious and ruthless, what he wants he gets no matter who perishes in the process.

Sample lines: “The weak perish so that the strong survive. It is the Vangaardian way.”
“Slay him, my love, and I promise you–your brother will be freed.”

Thressa: A Vangaardian of the Servant’s Caste in service to Warlord Vrang. She also acts as a spy for High Priest Varash.

Sample line: (about to die) “I have heard that the light is always brightest in the dark.”

Emperor Argazihm (minor for this book, will be a major character in the second): also titled The Dragon of Vangaard. A sorcerer and warlord over 500 years old, legends claim that he is the son of the god, Okareon.

Sample line: “I have honored your request. Is it not just to ask the same in return?”

Note: for those interested in auditioning for Yavar and Martin, (and also Varash, Vrang, Argazihm, and Thressa), email me before doing the lines so I can send a sample of the Vangaardian accent.

Justin, Priest of Soreace: A priest of the sun god. Virtuous and caring, but don’t make him angry.

Sample line: “Barbarous! Most barbarous!”
“And if I refuse?”

Bryant: A little orphan boy

Sample line: “My dad died in the war. Mother…she….”

Audition deadline: May 17, 2008
Attach samples in .wav or .mp3 (example file name: real name_character name.mp3) to: scottmsandridge@gmail.com

Thank you for your time, and here’s to a fun project that everyone will enjoy!

Best,
Scott M. Sandridge

April 17, 2008 - Posted by | AWIP Podcast, News & Rants, Uncategorized, Writerly Updates

2 Comments »

  1. How does it feel to be a big time producer? LOL! Good luck with the auditioning.

    Myr

    Comment by Myrrym Davies | April 18, 2008 | Reply

  2. LOL! Feels weird. Thanks! 🙂

    Comment by smsand | April 18, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

