Scott M. Sandridge

A Work in Progress

My Time at Marcon 45, Part Two of Three

It took me five hours just to go through my e-mails because my computer decided to have a fit. Remind me to take the machine outside and shoot it later.

Where were we? Oh, right!

Saturday (May 29):

After only three hours of sleep in the all night movie theater, I got up and did my get-cleaned-up-in-the-bathroom-without-getting-caught routine, went outside for a cigarette, nabbed some food down in the cafeteria area (I learned later that the consuite was open. Sigh. Money down the drain), and wandered around aimlessly until 10am.

And here is here I have to pull out the paper thingy and booklet thingy to help refresh my shoddy memory. Does anyone know where I can get a brain transplant real cheap?

I didn’t have to do any panels at 10am (and if I had remembered that, I would’ve slept in a little). On listening to a panel, it was a toss-up between UFOs, The Latest News or Marketing Your Story. In other words, pleasure or business. Like usual, business won out and I went to the Marketing Your Story panel. Lucy Snyder was supposed to have been on it, but she didn’t show up (Was there a party last night that I didn’t know about? C’mon guys, you know how much I like parties!). But the other panelists were great, especially Laura Bickle. Remind me to buy one of her books when I finally have a dayjob again.

Oh yeah. Did I mention she’s CUTE?

At 11:30, I moderated the How to Write Horror panel with Tim Waggoner, Lucy Snyder, and Gary Braunbeck. And yes, I felt like a rank amateur compared to those three awesome wordsmiths, but I think I held my own pretty well, and also learned some great stuff to boot. And again, being the moderator was a piece of cake because they definitely knew how to do panels. Lucy Snyder’s Spellbent is another book on my Must Get list. And yes, Lucy’s cute, too. 😉

What is it about cute female writers that makes me want to buy their books? Oh well.

At 1pm, a sleep-deprivation-caused migraine kicked in, and I spent much of the time eating sugary stuff and consuming CAFFEINE!!!!!! at the Consuite before I had to start the straight 6-hour blitz I was scheduled for. I also decided to head up to the Regency Foyer to hang with Stephen Zimmer while he, Emilie Bush, and Laura Bickle did their Autograph Session.

Oh yeah. Did I mention she’s CUTE?

I’m suddenly experiencing an odd sense of deja vu….

Then, at 2:30, I moderated The Business of Writing with Wayne Spencer, Shaun Moore, Rosemary Laurey, Tim Waggoner, and Michael Z. Williamson. And of course, naturally, one of my questions was, “What can you write off on your taxes?”

And yes, I took notes. MWAHAHAHA!!! Take THAT, Infernal Revenue Servants!

At 4, I taught my workshop, Dialogue. Hmmm, I think I need to come up with a niftier title for the workshop. Two people signed up, but only one showed up. But that’s okay because the one who showed up enjoyed my workshop so much that she gave me a good review to the awesome folk running the convention. YIPEEEEE!!!!!!! 😀

At 5:30 I did an Autograph Session with Denise Verrico sitting to my right and James O. Barnes on my left. We got to chat a little in between them signing autographs, and Stephen Zimmer showed up and hung out with me while I waited for my two-and-a-half fans to arrive.

They didn’t. 😦

Well, not then….

Because the Zombie Walk came through! Curses! Foiled by the zombies again!

According to the surveillance videos, the zombie infection began at 2:30, and by 5:30 was just no longer containable.

Eh, at least I didn’t get trampled by them this year, so they can have all the brains they want. I don’t mind.

At 7, me and Chris Nickel ran the Paper v. Electronic Gaming panel. It rocked even though I did still have a migraine and was hopped up on enough caffeine to kill a horse (or maybe it rocked because I was?). And Stephen decided to hang out and find out what us gamers were all about.

At 8:30 I breathed a sigh of relief that I managed to survive the 6-hour blitz, sleep deprivation, migraine, caffeine & sugar overdose, and ZOMBIES!!!! and headed to the How to Make a Horror Movie panel. Stephen Zimmer totally rocked that panel.

At 10 I caught a bit of the Is BDSM Really Scary? panel while waiting for the Haunted House to open.

Stop thinking that. I’m perfectly normal, thank you very much. My psychiatrist tells me so every day.

Hey! So what if my psychiatrist is my evil twin and imaginary friend! He still does a good job, dangit, and better yet, I don’t have to pay him anything!

Okay, let’s talk about the haunted house then. Um, I suppose it would’ve been a better experience if I hadn’t entered through the exit and exited through the entrance….

Why are you looking at me like that?

After the Haunted House I went and caught the last bit of the Hot Anime Chicks panel.

Hmmm, BDSM, haunted houses, and hot anime chicks–I smell a story brewing.

See? There’s actually a method to my madness. :p

By 11:30 I was too worn out to keep going, so I made my way toward the all night movie theater. On the way I got stopped by Ericka (Yay! I’m getting a hang of the whole remembering names thingy!) who purchased a copy each of The Four Horsemen: An Anthology of Conquest, War, Famine, & Death and Chimeraworld #6 (New World Disorder) anthologies for me to sign. WOOHOO!!!HAPPYHAPPYJOYJOYHAPPYHAPPYJOY!!!! 😀

At the theater I caught the tale end of Twilight: New Moon (no pun entended) then became mentally assulted by Dark Side of the Moon.

I tell you truly, if I hadn’t been insane before, I certainly am now after watching that film.

I went over to the other theater, since I obviously wasn’t going to get any sleep in the first one, and what comes on? Ju-on, the original Japanese version of what became The Grudge in the U.S. The one film whose entire series of sound effects I have a pathological fear of.

I’ll leave you to guess how much sleep I got.

And on top of that, I woke up Sunday morning with the realization that I completely forgot about Catherine Asaro‘s 10pm concert!

Argh! Foiled again! Curse those zombies! Next year I’m bringing a broadsword and collecting me some zombie heads!

June 2, 2010 - Posted by | Writerly Updates | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

