Scott M. Sandridge

A Work in Progress

SpecMusicMuse—Review of Zombies!! Official Board Game Soundtrack by Midnight Syndicate

mol_4panel_booklet_outside

Zombies!!! Official Board Game Soundtrack

Midnight Syndicate is famous for creating music used in haunted houses all over the nation during Halloween, as well as making soundtracks for horror films. They even created an official soundtrack for the Dungeons & Dragons role-playing game. So when I learned they had made an official soundtrack for the Zombies!! board game, I wasn’t surprised.

I’ve reviewed other CDs of theirs in the past, so I went in expecting a level of quality that only Midnight Syndicate can deliver.

And I wasn’t disappointed.

As I’m writing this review there is one part in the song, “Fear,” that just made me jump out of my seat. Yes, I’m listening to the Cd as I’m writing this review, and no this is not the first time listening to it. It’s my third, and I’m still catching new sounds and melodies I hadn’t noticed the last two times…and still getting startled by surprises.

One of the things I love about Midnight Syndicate is how they incorporate background sound effects into the melodies, and sometimes the background sounds can creep you out even more than the music can…and the music keeps you at the edge of your seat the entire time, sometimes giving you a break to relax…to then throw the next surprise at you. And by the time you reach the climax during “We’re Screwed” and “Race to the Helipad,” don’t be surprised if you find yourself biting your nails.

Midnight Syndicate has horror music mastered to a fine art, and once again they fail to disappoint with the Zombies!! soundtrack.

Best to listen to while reading: any zombie book, especially from Brian Keene or Armand Rosimilia.

And don’t forget to also get the board game the soundtrack is for.

October 21, 2016 - Posted by | SpecMusicMuse

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

